Home > linux, ubuntu, Uncategorized > Add gcc and other required build tools in Ubuntu

Add gcc and other required build tools in Ubuntu

I went to run ./configure to begin the install of ImageMagick-6.2.9 and was informed that I was missing a gcc compiler.  I looked in Synaptic, which indicated that I did have a gcc compiler installed.  Then I did a search for it, which indicated that it was located in /usr/lib directory.  So, I added that to my PATH in my .bashrc and logged out and back in.  gcc was still not found when I tried to run the configure. 

I went to ubuntuforums.org and found the following helpful command which got me the files required to configure the install (must be run as root, or sudo):

sudo apt-get install build-essentials

Categories: linux, ubuntu, Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

